Jump to contentJump to search

Outstanding individual grants

On this page you will find a selection of current outstanding individual grants at HHU.

Learning the grammar of plant regulatory DNA for targeted engineering of gene expression
Dr. Tobias Jores
Since 2023
Approximation Algorithms for Geometric Data Analysis and Their Practicability
Prof. Dr. Melanie Schmidt
Since 2021


Comparative Literary Studies
Prof. Dr. Soelve I. Curdts
Since 2017
Neural mechanisms of reward-guided learning and decision making
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Jocham
Since 2018
Social Contexts of Equality Practices: Global, National and Situational Conditions of Human Rights Enforcement
Prof. Dr. Heiko Beyer
Since 2018
Cell biology of the root-soil interface – morphogenesis and adaptive responses in tip-growing cells
Prof Dr. Guido Grossmann
Since 2020


Funktionale Supramolekulare Systeme
Dr. Bernd M. Schmidt
Since 03/2024
Next Generation MOFs: Synthesis and Applications
Dr. Gündoğ Yücesan
Since 02/2024
NMR-Methodenentwicklung zur Aufklärung der Struktur und Dynamik von Membranproteinen und membran-verankerten intrinsisch ungefalteten Proteinen in einer Lipidumgebung und bei physiologischen Temperaturen
Dr. Nils-Alexander Lakomek
Since 2020
Japanische Diaspora in Europa, Denkmalschutz der Moderne in Japan und die Idee der besonderen Naturverbundenheit der Japaner in kulturalistischen Diskursen
Prof. Dr. Christian Tagsold
Since 2019
Understanding the dynamic world of cell signalling and bio-catalysis through integrative native-state NMR
Dr. Manuel Etzkorn
Seit 2021

A detailed description of some ERC Grants and Individual Fellowships can be found here (DE)

4D-BioSTEM - 4D scanning transmission electron microscopy for structural biology
Prof. Dr. Carsten Sachse (Forschungszentrum Jülich)
Post-REALM - Post-National Reconceptions of European Literary History: A Mixed-Method Approach to a Late Medieval Text Tradition
Prof. Dr. Miriam Edlich-Muth
MEDMACH - 'Machinery Rooms' of the Mediterranean, 1800-present: Images and Visual Archives of Movement and Acceleration
Prof.  Dr. Eva-Maria Troelenberg
PROSPER - Production of a second phase of hydrophobic aromatics with solvent-tolerant Pseudomonas
Prof. Dr. Nick Wierckx (Forschungszentrum Jülich)
MECHSYS - Mechanistic Systems modelling of plant environmental adaptation and CAM photosynthesis engineering
Prof. Dr. Martin Lercher
EcolMetabOrigin – The Energetics and Habitat of Metabolic Origin
Prof. Dr. William F. Martin
PERLIFE – Engineering perennial barley
Prof. Dr. Maria von Korff Schmising
SymPore – Plasmodesmata, Symplasmic pores for plant cell-to-cell communication
Prof. Dr. Wolf B. Frommer
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Simon
LANTHANOPHORE - Innovative bioinspired strategies towards selective lanthanide complexation and separation: From bacterial chelators to applications
Prof. Dr. Lena Daumann
NeXource - Next-generation Plasma-based Electron Beam Sources for High-brightness Photon Science
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hidding
DYMO – Dynamic dialogue modelling
Prof. Dr. Milica Gašić
NEODYNE – Decision making: from neurochemical mechanisms to network dynamics to behaviour
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Jocham
PhaseControl - How cellular suicide programmes control phase transitions in fatty liver disease and liver cance
Prof. Dr. Tom Lüdde
PREMOL – At the crossroad of molecular physics, quantum optics and spectroscopy: ultra-high-precision molecular spectroscopy for fundamental physics
Prof. Dr. Stephan Schiller

Postdoctoral Fellowships (Horizon Europe)

BETTERCHOICES Understanding and improving choices: investigating the role of stress-related neuromodulators and
psychiatric diagnoses in decision-making and precommitment
Fellow: Dr. Paul Forbes
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Tobias Kalenscher
CHIAGRAM Chiral Active Granular Matter
Fellow: Dr. Lorenzo Caprini
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Hartmut Löwen
POTandESS – Potentiality and Essence: An Integrated Actualist Theory of Metaphysical Modality
Fellow: Dr. Giacomo Giannini
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Markus Schrenk
CHROMATOPHORES – From endosymbiont to organelle: Mechanisms of cellular integration between Paulinella and its chromatophores
Fellow: Dr. Megan Sørensen
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Eva Nowack

OptiCor – Optimising the treatment of chronic ischemic heart disease by training general practitioners to deliver very brief advice on physical activity
PD Dr. Sabrina Kastaun
Added value by participation? Effects of citizen participation on quality and legitimacy of political decisions on sustainable urban development
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Tobias Escher

Boosting cell-autonomous immunity against antibiotic-resistant bacterial pathogens
Dr. Miriam Kutsch

Alexander von Humboldt-Professur


Light-assisted programming of synthetic organoid tissues
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Hannes M. Beyer
Since 2021

Lichtenberg Professorship

Lichtenberg Professorship for Systems Neuroscience
Prof. Dr. Esther Florin
Since 2016
Responsible for the content: